Evening Masterwork

Each night at 7:00 PM join Tyler Kline for some of the best music ever written. Music that’s good enough to earn the title “Masterwork.” Listen for full length performances and large scale works like Carmina Burana, Mahler Symphonies, some new recordings and music that will be performed in our local concert halls. A full masterwork is featured each night at 7:00 PM on Classical WSMR 89.1 and in Tampa at 103.9.

This week on Evening Masterwork

Johannes Brahms: Trio for clarinet, piano, & cello in a-minor
Johannes Brahms completed his String Quartet in G major halfway through 1890, when he was 57 years old, and at the time he thought it would be his final composition. He decided that piece would be the perfect end to his career, so he retired… but then he heard clarinetist Richard Muhlfield perform. That’s when Brahms left retirement to compose a new piece for the clarinetist… the Trio for...
January 19, 2018 on Classical Music

Nightly, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9

Contact Info:


Tyler Kline
Tyler Kline

Tyler Kline is a composer whose music has been performed across the United States, and internationally in Canada, Brazil and Romania. His compositional interests encompass a wide variety of styles and mediums, from acoustic chamber and large ensemble works to electronic and electroacoustic music. A native of Kentucky, he earned his Master of Music degree in Composition from the University of South Florida. Learn more at www.tylerklinemusic.com.

Musical Notes from Evening Masterwork

Franz Schubert: Piano Trio No. 1 in B-Flat, Op. 99
Little is known about Franz Schubert’s Piano Trio No. 1 in B-flat, except for the fact that in his life time, the first trio was overshadowed by its companion, the Piano Trio No. 2...
Antonin Dvorak
Antonin Dvorak wrote his Serenade for Strings when he was in his early years of marriage, he had a brand-new baby boy at home and for once, he knew for certain that he would be abl...

This Week on Evening Masterwork

Joaquin Rodrgio: Concierto Madrigal for two guitars
This evening’s masterwork is Joaquin Rodrigo’s “Concierto Madrigal” for two guitars, based on an anonymous Renaissance madrigal “Felices ojos mios,” or Happy eyes of mine. We know...
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for violin & viola
The sinfonia concertante is an interesting genre that was popular mostly at the end of the 18th Century, heading into the 19th Century. It’s a type of work that features multiple s...
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 2 in B-flat D 125
Franz Schubert’s 2nd Symphony was not necessarily the masterwork to rank alongside Beethoven’s symphonies that it was trying to emulate. However, it’s a remarkable effort by an ima...


FirstChoice eNewsletter