WUSF Public Media Wins Big at this Year’s Society of Professional Journalists’ Sunshine State Awards


Carson Cooper, Winner, Anchor of the Year, 2015TAMPA, Fla. (August 17, 2015) WUSF Public Media recently won eight awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, including “Anchor of the Year” for Morning Edition host Carson Cooper. The annual Sunshine State Awards honor outstanding achievements while recognizing some of the best journalistic talent in the state. WUSF also received top radio honors for best newscast, investigative reporting, government coverage, feature reporting, public affairs and general coverage.

Journalists representing newspaper, online and broadcast organizations throughout the state of Florida attended the ceremony August 15 at Miami’s Koubek Center. Top recognitions with the WUSF Public Media team are: Carson Cooper, named Anchor of the Year in Florida, beating out the best radio and television anchors across Florida; Mark Schreiner continued a remarkable series of awards this year winning first place in Investigative Reporting for his work on the infamous Dozier School for Boys and his written feature on STEM Superheroes Kickstart Next Phase of Work; Lottie Watts and Bobbie O’Brien won awards for Best Government Coverage and Feature Reporting.

The WLRN & WUSF StateImpact Florida collaboration took home the General Coverage award. Florida Matters: 10th Anniversary of Hurricane Charley also secured a Public Affairs award, recognition to the WUSF staff, as the Florida Matters show was hosted by Carson Cooper, produced by Lottie Watts, with story inserts from Bobbie O’Brien and Steve Newborn.

“It’s deeply gratifying to see our WUSF reporters honored for their work,” said JoAnn Urofsky, General Manager of WUSF Public Media. “They’re dedicated and committed to providing great radio and great journalism to the community, and being recognized by their peers for excellence is one of the highest accolades they could receive.”

The WUSF Public Media 2015 Sunshine State Awards Winners are as follows:

Anchor of the Year – first place:

  • Carson Cooper


Best Newscast Radio – second place:

  •  – Carson CooperWUSF 89.7 Newscast 10/31/14 8:06 a.m.


Investigative Reporting Radio – first place:

  • Mark SchreinerUSF Dozier Investigation


Government Coverage Radio – third place:

  •  – Lottie WattsFDA Rules Could Snuff Out ‘Cigar City’


Feature Reporting Radio – first and second place:

  • Mark SchreinerSTEM Superheroes Kickstart Next Phase of Work
  •  – Bobbie O’Brien, Army Ranger Cory Remsburg ‘Leads the Way’


General Coverage Radio – third place:

WUSF-FM/WLRN-Miami Herald News – John O’Connor, StateImpact Florida, a WLRN & WUSF partnership, Common Core Coverage


Public Affairs Radio – second place:

  •  – Staff, Florida Matters: 10th Anniversary of Hurricane Charley


Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, the Society of Professional Journalists is a not-for-profit institution and the nation’s most comprehensive journalism organization, committed to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. The SPJ’s Sunshine State Awards have been Florida’s most prominent journalist showcase recognizing individuals making important contributions in the area of open and free press. For more information on the Society of Professional Journalists’ Sunshine State Awards and a full list of winners, please click here.


About WUSF Public Media

WUSF Public Media is a comprehensive media organization that provides media services to the community and businesses through public broadcasting and multi-media production services.  Licensed to the University of South Florida, WUSF Public Media serves the public interest through programming, educational outreach and community partnerships. For more information, visit www.wusf.org.